Monday, November 4, 2013

Wait, the stars are still out...

Hello Fellow Changers,

Today was my first morning of 1) getting up at 4:45 and 2) then running. I'm pretty tired and it is only 3:20pm. Here are some of my thoughts on today's run in no particular order-- since my brain is no longer capable of putting cohesive thoughts together and then ordering them. The absolute hardest part of the run was getting my feet out of the bed and getting dressed in the dark and kind of cold. Once that was over, I felt pretty committed. Also, it is way darker than I thought it would be at 5 am and that sort of surprised me. The stars were out which was sort of cool and I did think of a number of different people who told me that this is their wake up time to work out and I felt a sort of kinship with them and also sort of renegade and cool and badass for being up and going to work out then. The run itself was not really memorable except it was more dark than usual and the first few laps I felt scared about that--as it got lighter I felt better in this regard. I walked and ran in a pretty uninteresting back and forth but I've read everywhere that starting slow is the real key so I am actually doing that. No speed or distance metals here. Afterwards, however, I did feel pretty darn proud of myself--ok, I mean REALLY proud of myself. I felt like I had done something that I wanted to do for a long time and this time I did it. My shower and subsequent morning was really good because I just felt so darn happy that I had already run. I know it may sound silly but it kind of worked for me. I was not rushed and I had time to myself to think before anyone else talked to me which, it turns out, might actually be just want this night owl needs in the morning. First morning run=Good. xxK

No comments:

Post a Comment